J.K. Rowling changes plans for a Harry Potter encyclopedia: “I have no firm plans to publish it in book form”

Last month when J.K. Rowling’s new site was launched, she also shared her plans on a future Harry Potter encyclopedia. Very recently, though, she changed her statement and said that she has “no firm plans” on publishing it in book form.

Rowling revealed her plans on her site when answering an FAQ inquiry, “What about the Harry Potter Encyclopedia?” Her response was:

For a long time I have been promising an encyclopaedia of Harry’s world, and I have started work on this now – some of it forms the new content in Pottermore. It is likely to be a time-consuming job, but when finished I shall donate all royalties to charity.

Once this was known to everybody, the statement caused a lot of excitement and people were very anxious to hear more. Today, however, the answer was updated, leaving some fans disappointed, and others, like us, confused. The response now reads:

Updated May 2012
I have been enjoying sharing information about Harry’s world on Pottermore for free, and don’t have any firm plans to publish it in book form.

Now, our initial thought when reading this was that, 1) She states nothing about the encyclopedia and 2) She isn’t really answering the question. And, it is true. Rowling isn’t answering the question, rather drawing our attention to something else not relevant. However,  she does explain that the information on Pottermore will not be published in book form. She could be suggesting that Pottermore is, for now, the Harry Potter encyclopedia, and in many ways, it is.

In another way, she could be suggesting that if she ever releases the Harry Potter encyclopedia in the future, it will not be in book form. It could be an e-book or perhaps another website (I don’t see this happening). One thing is for sure, though; Rowling is leaving more questions unanswered then answered. Hopefully we will hear more official information soon.

What do you think the statement means? Share your thoughts in the comments.

5 responses to “J.K. Rowling changes plans for a Harry Potter encyclopedia: “I have no firm plans to publish it in book form”

  1. hello!,I love your writing so so much! proportion we communicate more approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert in this house to unravel my problem. Maybe that is you! Taking a look forward to peer you.

  2. My partner and i appreciate your submit. You wide open my mind, and i also definitely accept you. I am going to bookmark this particular post along with pay attention for additional updates. Furthermore I’ll come back to see what others are stating regarding this submit. Thank you once again.

  3. This article gives the mild in which we can easily observe the actuality. this is very good one and provide indepth information. thanks for this particular nice write-up.

  4. I really hope what you’re saying is true. The Harry Potter Encyclopedia is the book everyone’s been waiting JK Rowling to write and publish. Now, I just hope you are right and that she is going to write that book, because actually I’m really depressed with the fact that maybe she’s not writting it and your review to her answer gave me a lot of hope. I wish you are right, and let’s hope to hear news concerning this book in matter of time. By the way, I loved your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

