J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy will not receive a midnight release

A rumor was swirling around the Twitter sphere yesterday that The Casual Vacancy would not receive a midnight release on September 27, but rather in the morning.

Pottermore News is the first to confirm that the book that the book will not be released at midnight, but at 8:00am in the morning, British Summer Time.

We asked the publishers at Little, Brown to confirm if the information was accurate and they responded, “The release of the book is actually at 8.00 a.m. British Summer Time and the equivalent time worldwide on the 27th September.”

So, there you have it. This means no midnight release parties or celebrations with friends or really any kind of party – nothing. Most of the US will be sleeping at that time and thinking that it’s morning, most British people will be getting ready for work. A lot of people wouldn’t have time to go to their local bookstore on their way to work to grab a copy (or their pre-ordered copy for that matter).

Thank goodness we have e-books.

So there are no problems with figuring out the time, here is a list of all the timezones in which the book will be released:

BST – 8:00 am

EST (USA) – 3:00 am

CT (USA) – 2:00 am

MT (USA) – 1:00 am

PT – 12:00 am (this probably will be the only time zone that will have midnight release party)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s