Robert Galbraith official website and Twitter launched

UK Cover of The Cuckoo's Calling

UK Cover of The Cuckoo’s Calling

The official website and Twitter account for Robert Galbraith, the pseudonym of Harry Potter author J.K. Rowling, has launched.

The website (www.robert-galbraith.com) includes the synopsis and reviews of The Cuckoo’s Calling and an author biography that simply states that Galbraith is a pseudonym for Rowling, along with an F.A.Q section. In this section, Rowling answers some questions about the book, writing under a pseudonym, and the book’s sequel.

From the site:

Why did you choose to write a crime novel and why under a pseudonym?

I’ve always loved reading detective fiction. Most of the Harry Potter stories are whodunits at heart (‘Order of the Phoenix’ is more of a why-did-he), but I’ve wanted to try the real thing for a long time.

As for the pseudonym, I was yearning to go back to the beginning of a writing career in this new genre, to work without hype or expectation and to receive totally unvarnished feedback. It was a fantastic experience and I only wish it could have gone on a little longer.

Why did you choose to write it as a man? Did it influence your writing in anyway?

I certainly wanted to take my writing persona as far away as possible from me, so a male pseudonym seemed a good idea. I am proud to say, though, that when I ‘unmasked’ myself to my editor David Shelley who had read and enjoyed ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ without realizing I wrote it, one of the first things he said was ‘I never would have thought a woman wrote that.’ Apparently I had successfully channeled my inner bloke!

Was revealing the true identity of Robert Galbraith not simply an elaborate marketing campaign to help boost sales?

If anyone had seen the labyrinthine plans I laid to conceal my identity (or indeed my expression when I realised that the game was up!) they would realise how little I wanted to be discovered. I hoped to keep the secret as long as possible. I’m grateful for all the feedback from publishers and readers, and for some great reviews. Being Robert Galbraith has been all about the work, which is my favourite part of being a writer. This was not a leak or marketing ploy by me, my publisher or agent, both of whom have been completely supportive of my desire to fly under the radar. If sales were what mattered to me most, I would have written under my own name from the start, and with the greatest fanfare.

At the point I was ‘outed’, Robert had sold 8500 English language copies across all formats (hardback, eBook, library and audiobook) and received two offers from television production companies. The situation was becoming increasingly complicated, largely because Robert was doing rather better than we had expected him to, but we all still hoped to keep the secret a little longer. Yet Robert’s success during his first three months as a published writer (discounting sales made after I was found out) actually compares favourably with J.K. Rowling’s success over the equivalent period of her career!

Rowling also reveals that she has just finished the sequel to Cuckoo, and it is suspected to be published next year. You can click to read more of Rowling’s answers to the F.A.Q.’s here.

As stated above, a Twitter account was also launched, and you can check “him” out @_RGalbraith. Hopefully he’ll be tweeting a little more than his creator! 🙂

Over the past weekend, J.K. Rowling was outed as the real author of The Cuckoo’s Calling over the weekend by a Sunday Times editor. You can read her statement regarding the situation, a synopsis of the book and more here, at our page dedicated to the book.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

